Delaware County Leaders Deliver Meals on Wheels

PRESS RELEASE—On March 11, SourcePoint hosted Community Champions Day, an annual event that invites local government and business leaders to help deliver Meals on Wheels. The event is part of the national March for Meals campaign, which promotes the importance of senior nutrition and seeks support to ensure seniors continue to benefit from home-delivered meals and safety checks.

This year’s participants included Jeff Benton, Delaware County Commissioner; Bill Brown, former SourcePoint board member; Shyra Eichhorn, Liberty Township Trustee; Tom Hatfield, Village of Sunbury Mayor; Gary Merrell, Delaware County Commissioner; Patrick Monahan, Village of Shawnee Hills Mayor; Christine Nardecchia, Outreach and Engagement Director, City of Dublin; Carolyn Kay Riggle, City of Delaware Mayor; Melissa Schiffel, Delaware County Prosecutor; and Sandra Stults, Scioto Township Trustee.

“This event has a lasting impact,” said Fara Waugh, SourcePoint’s executive director. “Our community leaders come together to learn more about Meals on Wheels, and walk away with a better understanding of the needs of our county’s seniors.”

Each year, SourcePoint provides around 250,000 meals to older adults in Delaware County. Funding for the program comes from several sources, including the local property tax levy and the Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging. The nonprofit organization also relies on donations to bolster its funding and support the projected growth of the older population and their needs.

To learn more about Meals on Wheels or make a donation, go to

SourcePoint is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization that provides professional services and programs for Delaware County adults who want to thrive after 55. Services and programs are supported by the local senior services levy, corporate and private donations, grants, Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging, and United Way of Delaware County.

ABOVE PHOTO: SourcePoint’s Community Champions, pictured top row, left to right: Jeff Benton, Tom Hatfield, Christine Nardecchia, Gary Merrell, Patrick Monahan, and Fara Waugh. Pictured seated, left to right: Melissa Schiffel, Carolyn Kay Riggle, Bill Brown, Shyra Eichhorn, and Sandra Stults.